Day 1: relationship status

Hey World,

So day one of blogging challenge has arrived and I think this one is a biggie. Why? Well, I will warn you…I have a soap box on this topic. I am single.  I have been for a while and…I really like it that way. So, I think I should be honest about my relationship experience. I have only had one official boyfriend…that I broke up with after like a month or two. Maybe, I should go a little further than that.

I was raised in a very strict Christian home. I wasn’t allowed to do many things. I couldn’t talk on the phone to my friends. I couldn’t go to anyone’s home or they to ours. I wasn’t allowed to listen anything but Christian music and I was definitely not allowed to play with boys. It wasn’t proper. As a child, I just took things as they where. I didn’t know any different. I was happy and content to follow all the rules and I didn’t think beyond that day. My dad was happy. However, the day came when we all (by all I am including my 2 sisters) hit when we became teenagers. Lets just say that my dad’s little bubble of rightness deflated… slowly. I never dared defy my dad. His way or the highway. He was scary and he was (still is) the pastor of the church. His family was the example. Okay, I think you get the gist. Anyways, he never let us play with boys and never let any boys near us. So when I started to actually be attracted to boys. It was and still is a weird, unknown, awkward feeling. I really just didn’t know how to act around boys. I mainly have female friends.So in my one sole act of defiance I somehow got a boyfriend.

How? you may ask? Well, the old fashion way. I told my friend in complete confidence that I thought her friend X was cute. The next thing I knew she had wrote him a small note telling him is he wanted to go out with me because I liked him. I still bet embarrassed by this moment in my life. More like mortified. Okay, so that is how my got my first and only boyfriend. I sort of asked by dad if it was okay to have a boyfriend. Let’s just say the answer was no and he made sure everyone knew that the answer was no in his sermons for like a month. I being a sheep felt guilty about dating this guy finally broke up with him. We never did anything together. We were really getting to know each other and I was so naive and embarrassed by the whole situation that I  couldn’t even hold the poor boys hand. Remember I had never had any type of real interaction with the opposite sex.

So now you know the back story about my single life. However, now I will tell you about why I have remained single. Besides the obvious fact that no one has seriously pursued me. I have said no to several guys cause it wasn’t… right. I may not be as uptight as I was or as uptight as my dad but I still hold a lot of the thing I learned. I really got Jesus. To put it laymens terms. I really believe in Him and what he taught and I really love Him. Consequently, I really believe that He has one person for me. Someone he made just for me and I for him. I think and feel  that I shouldn’t waste my first’s in several guys when he is out their. I want him to be the first guy that I hold hands with, for him to have my first kiss with, to be the first person out side my family that I love and when we get married I want to have my first time to be with him. I know that is not what people normally do now a days. But I’m not your normal everyday kind of girl. So, yeah I’m single but truly I’m waiting. So what about you guys? What’s your relationship status? =)

 

ta-ta,

AGG

P.S. Also, this dude is really going to have his work cut out for him because I’m not easy and then he would have to get through my family and they are a whole ‘nother story.

Leave a Reply

Sir Isaac Newton

"If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants."

William Shakespeare

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them."

Souza

"Dance as though no one is watching, Love as though you never been hurt, Sing as though no one can hear you, Live as though heaven is on earth."
