Day 17: Roses and Thorns

52be3bb772fea0967c94ef2d8e83ead2

Hey World,

So, I hope you guys have been having an awesome year so far. Mine so far has been a big learning discovery with a pinch of determination. I didn’t make a new years resolution. However, I did decide to make better health choices. So far I have learned a lot about eating good and how it affects your body. Also, I have learned a lot about my self. I think this year is going to be a growing year for  me.

So, back to the main point. Today’s prompt is, “Your highs and lows of this past year.” I called this post Roses and Thorns because, when I was a camp counselor would go around and say our Roses or thorns of the day. Basically the highlight of our day and the low point of our day. So…yeah.

To begin, my roses of 2016 have been several but a specific one is that I went to a ton of concerts. So, in 2016 I saw, American Author, Goo Goo Dolls, Daughtry, 3 Doors Down, KT Tunstall, Brandy Carlile, Alessia Cara, and Coldplay. Before that I hadn’t seen anyone in concert. So this was a great year to see great artist. I loved every minute of it. I of course had a partner in crime that went with me, my bestie Ara. It was so much fun. I still can’t get over it. My favorite of all the concerts was of course, COLDPLAY! Wow, the concert was amazing, beautiful, colorful, loud, loving, sweet, reminiscent, and so many other words! Every time I listen to one of their songs it gives me chills as I remember the moment I heard it live. Furthermore, another rose would be that I moved job locations. I still work for the same company but, I work in a different location. It was the best move I could have ever made. I was drowning in the old location. Everything was bad, like going back to high school bad. It was like breathing fresh, crisp air after surfacing from a plunge. No joke you guys. It was night and day difference and it has been a positive one. I love my job again. I’m actually good at my job again. I don’t feel like such a failure. Yeah, that was how my old job made me feel. Hence, my rose being moving jobs. So those are a couple of my roses.

Alternatively, my thorns, my hurts, my bruises are a few. One big one is that my paternal grandmother passed away. It hurt because she was family. However, it bruised more because I was bitter and did not go see her when I had the chance. The year before (2015) I had the great opportunity to go to El Salvador. That is where my mom and dad are from. I went to see my fathers dad (my Grandpa) and his sisters. You see my dad’s mom and dad are not together. It was one of those youth flings that resulted in my dad. So my grandmother lived in one side of the tracks and the grandfather lived on the other. My grandfather is actually very well off in El Salvador. My grandmother is dirt poor. That never mattered to me. Truthfully, we living as middle class citizens in the United States live better than both of them. So, like I said before, it wasn’t an issue. When I say bitter, I mean resentful. Some towards my grandmother and some towards my dad. You see my grandmother was always lying and always trying to get money. She was a huge gossip and mean to others. She was always kind to my sisters and me. We couldn’t send her nice things without her selling it for a few bucks. She would like about being sick or was dying so my dad would send her money. Later we would find out she was fine but needed to the money to bail out my drunk of a step uncle. Or to fund some lazy attempt at a business (a bakery (none of them know how to bake), a bar (my uncle a drunk), a little store (in the middle of nowhere)). She was a gossip and lied about a lot of things. She said that my step brother was involved with gangs. That he was a gangster. Poor guy was trying to make ends meet with an honest job. My grandma  was very vile to my mom when  they lived in El Salvador. Even when my mom went a few years ago. She spread false rumors about my mom and dad. My mom would tell me stories that would fire me up. So when I went to El Salvador I didn’t really think twice in not visiting her. I wanted to meet my aunts on my dad’s father’s side. My dad was bitter towards both side of his family. My grandfather treated his daughters better that my dad growing up. So he never really let us get to know them. They always wanted to know us and they had no fault on how their parents messed up. So I went to get to know them and they are wonderful. I was their only a week. I feel I should have tried to see my grandma. I am ashamed at myself for letting petty stuff get in the way of family. Family is all and you never know when you are going to lose someone. It may be tomorrow or 50 years from now. I learned a very hard and bitter lesson that year. I needed to put aside opinions and feeling and appreciate the family I have left. If and when I have a chance to see them I need to do it. Grab each opportunity with both hands and run with it because, you just never know.

So what where you major Thorns and Roses? Was 2016 a better or worst year? Let’s appreciate the highs and learn from the lows, okay. Lets use those for this new year and soak in each moment of this 2017. Love y’all!

Ta-ta,

AGG

Leave a Reply

Sir Isaac Newton

"If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants."

William Shakespeare

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them."

Souza

"Dance as though no one is watching, Love as though you never been hurt, Sing as though no one can hear you, Live as though heaven is on earth."
